Diary

A full circle

For a few days now I’ve had a hankering for a German pancake and despite the surprising wave of heat we’re having now, I decided to bake one. Together with a super iced coffee, it should make a nice afternoon treat.

The first time I ever had a German pancake was during a family visit to the USA.  My aunt and uncle were living in Albuquerque at that time with my great-aunt Irma. She was the one who, closer to the German side of the family, had a recipe which she made for us once. It was like nothing my sister and I had ever had before: gloriously puffy, golden and crispy all at the same time. Served simply with icing sugar, it was one of those things you love straight away.

Since then, I’ve only tried to make it once before.  Unfortunately, I don’t know exactly what recipe great-aunt Irma used at the time and it’s too late to find out now. But the Internet is resourceful; recipes for German pancakes (or Dutch babies, as they’re called, as well) can be found easily. The one I’ve used is this one, and it produces the puffiest pancake you can imagine.

In making this pancake, newfound curiosity for my family’s background led me to ask my mother a few questions. I thought I knew the story, but actually I missed a few details. I always thought it was my great grandfather who settled in Honduras, but it was actually a generation further than that. Both my great grandfather’s parents were German while he was born in southern Honduras. And while I know my great great grandfather was a consul in Amapala, that just raises more questions than it answers.

I find it interesting how a few generations later, my family has done a full circle. Specifically, my sister in Germany and me in England; each living in a country that contributed to our existence today (funnily enough, my English great great grandfather used to live in south London).

Back to the pancake… In my anticipation, I miscalculated how hot the oven should be and probably raised it a bit higher than recommended, as the pancake got quite brown too quickly. The pancake then had a second stage of baking where the temperature was lowered and left to bake a further 13-15min. I, thinking it must be quite done, took it out a couple of minutes early (mistake number 2). So, because of my impatience, I was left with both an overdone and underdone pancake! Too brown outside and slightly doughy in the middle. Oh well. I still enjoyed it; iced coffee goes well with anything, even the sad version of a German pancake.

One thought on “A full circle

Leave a Reply

