Diary

Practice buns

It’s been some time since my last post, quite a bit has happened since then: I finished the Level 1 course with a Distinction (super happy about it!) and got an additional tutor role to fill out my work days. From here on until August, my days are set.

 

Creme caramels from Level 1 exam

 

I also started the Level 2 Patisserie course a few weeks ago and this Friday will be the first practical assessment. We will be tested on bread and it will be much more intense than Level 1 ever was. We will need to produce and present brown plaited rolls and Belgian buns (4 of each). Both of these will be tasted and assessed as products in a proper bakery would be.

 

Brown plaited rolls from class which failed to be recreated at home

 

Since today I had the morning off, naturally I decided to practice. The Belgian buns were easy enough since I had frozen the dough leftover from class. I only had to defrost it, let it rise and shape the buns. I did have to improvise, however, due to having no sultanas or raisins in the house (also no fondant for glazing). I did without the dried fruit and decided to try a chocolate glaze since that’s what I had in the cupboard. The only thing I cared about in terms of the glaze was the actual skill (getting it as even as possible), otherwise I’d have done without it too.

 

Pre-glaze Belgian buns

 

The buns looked great straight out of the oven and brushed with bun wash (sugar syrup). The chocolate glaze was a tad thick so the buns’ spirals got a bit lost.  Hopefully I can manage a thinner, even coating of fondant on Friday’s test.

 

Chocolate glazed buns

 

I had no wholemeal at home, so decided to just make plain white dough to practice the shaping of the plaited rolls… Big fail! I still haven’t quite got the conversion of fresh to dry yeast so whenever I try to recreate the course’s bread recipes they almost never work out. And today was no different… I guess the fact that I halved the recipe didn’t help either. The end dough was too soft; I tried plaiting one roll and gave up. The dough was too soft to hold the shape (I was also running out of time as I had to leave for work), so the rest of the dough ended up as plain rolls. Not even good rolls…they were over proofed in my makeshift prover. I can only hope that Friday will see better rolls (very likely given the proper ingredients and the professional equipment). Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Practice buns

Leave a Reply

