Diary

A month of changes 

I never really subscribed to the whole “new year, new me” idea, but for me 2017 has certainly brought many changes (and it’s only been a month!). Not only have I started the patisserie course, but I’ve also moved to a different flat (there’s only so much you can take from an agency which doesn’t really give a crap about the residents it gives service to). On top of that I’ve also changed jobs, giving me more flexibility with my time. Except for one or two bumps in the road, it’s been great. 

At the very beginning of the course, I felt like I couldn’t catch up; everybody else seemed to be much more experienced in baking. I could hear people kneading and pounding their doughs while I was still mixing my ingredients. I was the first to cut my finger while slicing our sweet buns (who knew professional knives were that sharp). I also cracked my sweet shorcrust pastry shell while transferring it to a cooling rack (only a bit, but still…in pastry-making the quest is for perfection). Not to mention almost grating my finger with the cheese the other day. 

Cracked pastry shell hidden under pastry cream and apricots

With each day, however, I learn to focus on the things I’m doing well  and just make a mental note of what I need to practice more. I could use more practice shaping bread and piping in general, but my choux pastry is not bad. Same for my rolling: rolling out sweet dough to cover with cinnamon sugar and raisins and then roll up into a roll to make Chelsea buns was fun and not as hard as I thought. 

Chelsea/sticky buns, a step away from cinnamon rolls

I think my favourite lesson so far has been making profiteroles, eclairs and one Paris-Brest; all simple enough but with different components each. Choux pastry is so versatile; I wish we had a deep fryer to make churros. 

Heaven in a puff

Besides the pastry, we also learned to make creme patissiere for the eclairs, chantilly cream and chocolate sauce for the profiteroles, and a praline cream for the Paris-Brest. Very handy things to keep in my arsenal of recipes. 

A lone Paris-Brest 

A useful tip I learned for filling eclairs: make two small holes on the bottom of each eclair, one on either end. Pipe the pastry cream in one hole and check when it peeps through the other hole; there’s nothing sadder than a half-full eclair. 

During the last class we made rough puff pastry and to be honest, mine looked really bad by comparison. In the end though, it became gloriously flaky and crispy around some sausage meat and twisted around lots of cheese. 

Cheese straws

Each week brings something new and exciting, keeping me on my toes. I still want to continue my project now that I’m more settled in my schedule. I still need to make something Honduran, probably semitas or rosquillas,  if I find a cheese that resembles the original. It’s something to look forward to, especially since half-term is coming up. Plenty of time to mess around in the kitchen… 

5 thoughts on “A month of changes 

  1. This all looks and sounds sooo delicious! Though I have to admit I’m partial to savory treats – those cheese straws are giving me the cravings! Also, I need your new mailing address!

    Like

Leave a Reply

